

RON DESANTIS GOVERNOR 605 Suwannee Street Tallahassee, FL 32399-0450 KEVIN J. THIBAULT, P.E. SECRETARY

For Immediate Release August 20, 2019 Contact: Ann Howard (850) 414-4595 Ann.Howard@dot.state.fl.us

FDOT Wins Two Southern Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (SASHTO) Regional Competition Awards

TALLAHASSEE, FLA. – The Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT) announced today that the Department was awarded two SASHTO regional awards for the SunRail Southern Expansion and the Krome Avenue Reconstruction and Widening Project. The SunRail Southern Expansion extends service 17 additional miles and adds four new stations. Krome Avenue, a critical thoroughfare in Miami Dade County, will expand from two to four lanes, with the 36-mile corridor divided into 12 separate projects.

"As we prepare for future growth in the state of Florida, maintaining and strengthening our infrastructure is essential to our success," said Governor DeSantis. "These projects allow FDOT to deliver infrastructure solutions which meet the needs of those who use our roads today while anticipating the challenges of tomorrow."

"The Department is proud to receive two SASHTO regional awards for these important enhancements to Florida's transportation system," said FDOT Secretary Kevin J. Thibault, P.E. "We take great pride in creating a modern transportation system that delivers Governor DeSantis' vision of improving safety and relieving congestion by leveraging technology."

The Southern Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials regional competition is a part of the America's Transportation Awards sponsored by the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO), AAA, and the U.S. Chamber of Commerce. The awards have four regional competitions, with the top three scoring projects from each region named in the "Top 12."

The projects are in the running for the Grand Prize Award which is selected by a panel of industry judges, as well as the People's Choice Award which is selected by the public through online voting. The final 12 projects will be announced on August 23, 2019 and voting for the People's Choice Award will begin on the same day. Winners of both awards will be formally announced October 7, 2019 at the AASHTO Annual Meeting in St. Louis, Missouri.

###